Organizing and Editing Photos

I have always loved taking photographs ever since buying my first camera which was a Kodak Instamatic. I bought myself an SLR when I started working which was well used until it was traded for a film compact camera for travelling. When digital cameras arrived I wanted one but had to wait a while to be able to afford to buy one. I settled on a Ricoh Caplio G3 and I think it cost me around $600. I still have it and it is still used even though I now own a digital SLR.

Having had a camera for a while I have lots of photos. The ones before digital came along are all in boxes. I have some that are on mini floppy discs that I can no longer access because of the file format but luckily they were taken with a film camera so that I have the negatives. I have some on CDs and I have thousands on my computer!

Many pictures

I need a way to organize these or I would never find anything. I could have just used the Windows software that came with my computer or the software that was provided with my camera but instead I choose to use  Picasa.

Picasa is a software download from Google. It is free and I find it very useful because it ties in so well with my Gmail account, Online Picasa Web Albums and Blogger. To use my images in my blog I am able to easily find, edit and upload to my online albums and then use the link to feature to add to my blog.

One thing I use often is the crop feature in Picasa. I take my photos using the highest setting on my camera and that is way too large for using on the web. This means I can crop heavily and still have a large picture. Even with a zoom lens there are some things that you just can’t get close enough to to get a good tight shot.

Before

After

When I upload using Picasa I have the option of uploading the full sized image or just uploading a smaller file for the web and the the uploader takes care of the resizing.

I can use other programs to resize my image as well but if I do this I will always make a copy of my image first so that I do not ever resize the original. MS Picture Manager is one program that I use.

IrfanView is another picture viewer/editing downloadable program that is highly recommended but I have not explored it yet.

3 thoughts on “Organizing and Editing Photos

  1. Mrs S February 1, 2011 / 1:58 pm

    Thanks, Penny. I think that the cropping tool, the straighten tool and the Collage feature are the things I use most in Picasa. The other thing I like is how my original photos are not altered permanently unless I choose to save the changes.

  2. Penny Bentley February 1, 2011 / 1:06 pm

    Thanks so much for this information about Picasa. I’ve been using an old program that came with my camera and are becoming frustratedd by it’s limitations. I’ll have a look at this one.
    Being interested in close-up photography I love the cropping feature too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *